Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Goodbye Sushi.

Finally.
Finally after saying "I'm going to quit" approximately 5,000 times, I'm really going to do it.

Tomorrow I'm officially putting in my two week notice at Kabuki Restaurants.

I've been working there for roughly over a year and a half (May 2007).
Hostessing for a year has definitely been an easy job, although I did have my super rough days.
Days of smiling. Days of crying.
Rough customers. Rough co-workers.
Those typical days where I just didn't want to go into work.

I worked a lot. Average twenty hours a week while managing going to school full time.
And by full time, I mean commuting a forty minute drive to school.



Was it worth it?
I guess in some sense. The people is definitely what made this experience worth while.

Why am I quitting?
Sure, it'd be nice to make some extra pocket change.
But I really need to focus on my studies now.
I've changed my major to Chemistry, and this will require me to study my butt off for the next few years.
All my focus is devoted to C-H-E-M-I-S-T-R-Y. Hooray!

On the bright side, I am fortunate enough to have my parents to support me.
They already pay for my tuition, my car, insurance, gas, and now my phone.
Now added onto that is my monthly allowance.
I've asked for $450 a month.
Basically for food, clothes here and there, and gas if I need to pump in the moment.

I could ask for more, but I believe that $450 is adequate.
If I feel like I can handle having a part time job, later on in the school year, I'll definitely reconsider.

As far as Kabuki? I'm donezo, but I have this strange feeling they're going to be BEGGING me to stay.

The two top hostesses, Kat & I, are quitting as of tomorrow.


Good luck, managers.

1 comment:

DEEDEE said...

first of all, quitting a job that you've been at for a long time is always a little strange at first. trust me, after being an employee of American Eagle for 3 years, it was tough to leave even though i didn't even like it. even after i started working FULLTIME at my office job, i was STILL working at AE on certain weekends and sometimes right after work. so then i'd work like 9-530, then 6-9. hahahaha it was all because it was hard to turn my back on the managers who had been sooo good to me. but that might be a different story for you. not sure.

well, i'm PROUD OF YOU for taking this step. youre showing dedication and determination to do well in school, so i know you will!!

btw, JennMac is great at Chemistry AND she loves it. she knows that shit really well, so if you ever need help, just hit her up. hahaha


<33333333